A Free Voice


Obama’s lead shrinks
June 13, 2008, 11:32 pm
Filed under: Obama | Tags:

In an earlier post (Obama’s 7 point lead is just amusing) I marveled at Barack Obama’s new lead over John McCain because I could not understand how such an inexperienced junior senator that didn’t even finish his first term could have that even that much of a lead over someone who had decades of more experience (i.e., John McCain).

Also, I mentioned that Obama was a a double talker, citing an occasion in which he claimed to be a capitalist and believed in extended government control over the economy at the same time.

Well, I guess I was in amazed for nothing because in today’s new Gallap Tracking poll Obama’s lead has now shrunk to just 3 points. (Obama has 46% and McCain has 43%) — I guess I should have known earlier. It’s only natural that Obama get a temporary boost after getting his nomination sown up. I remember a similar thing happening with George W. Bush in 2004 after the Republican National Convention when every poll gave him a boost. One poll gave him an 11 point lead over John Kerry. But obviously Bush won with only 51%, a three point lead in November.

I suppose this shows the foolishness of confiding to much in polls.

Obama’s lead should shrink even more as his nomination becomes old news. I’m going to predict that he will get another bounce during the Democratic National Convention when he officially gets the nomination. I also think the same thing will happen with John McCain at his convention as well.

The Gallup Poll also shows that 4% of voters are still indecided between the two candidates and that 6% (including me) will not vote for either of them.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

